top of page

Surprise Guides

I find I am frequently mentored by surprise guides. Surprise guides are different than the guides we expect. We expect the older ‘gone before us’ wise sages to be our natural guides. And we understand that our peers will have expertise where we don’t. The plumbers, electricians and IT guys; they are what we call ‘side guides.’ But we often underestimate our younger contacts and don’t recognize them as mentors until they surprise us by doing just that!

My biggest source of surprise guides have been my own children. They teach me every day, by challenging my wits, will power, and stamina. But I have many young people in my life that mentor me all the while I think I am mentoring them.

Just some small examples, such as Swedishfish helping me figure out what setting I was using in my google spreadsheets that hid the needed header. I hadn’t been able to figure it out, but he knew the answer. I frequently get stumped by technology, preferring my 13 year old to get the movie on the screen for me, or my 22 year old getting the speakers blaring for the party. And a few years ago my then 3 year old showed me how to use a custom photo for my iPhone screen!

My most recent surprise guides are my Guros [teachers] in Eskrima. I just recently started taking this filipino stick fighting martial art and most of my instructors are 20 somethings. Mr. Matt, I have known for a long time as I have brought my own kids to this very same school for many years. Mr Peter, I actually met when he was about 9 months old and have been pretty close with his mom as he’s grown. And last, Mr Carlton- my own son is finally teaching me a few things about what he does best; hit a target. I appreciate how patient they are with me and how they do not tire going over small steps again and again to make sure I am doing it right. In the Martial Arts, respect for authority is a strong value. Students are taught to respect their teachers, their higher ranking classmates and any elder. This show of respect doesn't change if the student/teacher roles are reversed! This experience has given new meaning to respecting others and how to be a mentor. I have learned that I need to be more patient! I need to understand that those I am guiding may need instruction over and over and not grow weary with the repetition. And I have l learned the value of respect in the mentoring relationship regardless of which role I am in. I think that surprise guides are the best guides!

Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page